Recent Announcements

June 1, 2022

Copyright Royalty Board Digitization Internship

The CRB seeks interns for a project that will serve to increase the availability in its online case management system of the historical record of cases. College student volunteers will work onsite to help with the CRB’s digitization efforts converting paper-based documents to a digital format. For more information and to apply, click here.

More Announcements

About Us

The Copyright Royalty and Distribution Reform Act of 2004 (CRDRA) established the Copyright Royalty Judges program in the Library of Congress. The Copyright Royalty Judges (Judges) oversee the copyright law’s statutory licenses, which permit qualified parties to use multiple copyrighted works without obtaining separate licenses from each copyright owner.

The Judges determine and adjust royalty rates and terms applicable to the statutory copyright licenses. They also oversee distribution of royalties deposited with the Copyright Office by certain statutory licensees and adjudicate controversies relating to the distributions.

The Judges are appointed by the Librarian of Congress to serve staggered six-year terms. Each may be reappointed to subsequent six-year terms.

Under the CRDRA, each judge must have a law degree and at least seven years’ legal experience. In addition, one judge must have significant knowledge of copyright law, one must have significant knowledge of economics, and one must have a minimum of five years’ judicial or quasi-judicial experience. The board of Judges consists of David P. Shaw, (chief judge), Judge David R. Strickler (economics), and Judge Steve Ruwe (copyright). Judge Shaw is serving as chief judge; Judge Strickler’s current term ends in January 2028; and Judge Ruwe’s current term ends in December 2025.

David P. Shaw, Chief Copyright Royalty Judge

David P. ShawChief Copyright Royalty Judge

David Strickler, Copyright Royalty Judge

David R. StricklerCopyright Royalty Judge

Steve Ruwe, Copyright Royalty Judge

Steve RuweCopyright Royalty Judge

Read more